Vote for the NLY manager of the year

James Grayson presenting manager of the year Grant Black with his award at Ossett Town’s presentation night in May 2017. Picture: Mark Gledhill

There will be a new winner for our popular and annual Manager of the Year vote. Who will follow in the footsteps of Paul Quinn, Grant Black and double-winner Wayne Benn in the fifth annual vote, which is sponsored by NLY Community Sport this year.

NLY Community Sport delivers sports coaching sessions to people with disabilities and learning difficulties. The organisation is run by James Grayson and Connor Rollinson, who are both very passionate about providing sporting opportunities for adults and children who suffer from mental health issues or have complex disabilities.

Voting for the 2017/18 contest, which involves only managers in the Evo Stik and NCEL, closes at Saturday 19th May at 11.59pm.

Here are the 11 nominees (vote at the bottom):

Mark Askwith / Scott Mason (Maltby Main)

Maltby Main’s management team – Mark Askwith, Scott Mason and John Crossland – guided the club to their highest finish since the early 1990s

Spencer Fearn (Frickley Athletic)

Frickley Athletic missed out on promotion, but broke numerous records and scored lots of goals under Spencer Fearn

Christian Fox (Selby Town)

Selby Town manager Christian Fox has done an unbelievable job. With a very exciting style of play, the highly-rated Fox totally raised the bar and also guided them to their first West Riding County Cup final since 1993

Phil Harding / Neil Sibson (Yorkshire Amateur)

Yorkshire Amateur joint bosses Phil Harding and Neil Sibson led their club into the NCEL Premier Division for the first time in their history

Darren Holmes / Lee Vigars (Glasshoughton Welfare)

Glasshoughton Welfare joint managers Darren Holmes and Lee Vigars led their team to an unexpected play-offs place

Steve Kittrick (Scarborough Athletic)

Scarborough Athletic manager Steve Kittrick secured promotion

Paul Marshall (Pickering Town)

Pickering Town boss Paul Marshall celebrated pipping AFC Mansfield to second place in the NCEL Premier

Craig Parry (Pontefract Collieries)

Pontefract Collieries manager Craig Parry continued his outstanding reign by securing back-to-back promotions by winning the NCEL Premier Division

Sean Regan (Eccleshill United)

Eccleshill United manager Sean Regan led his side to the NCEL Division One play-off final triumph

Jonathan Rimmington (Liversedge)

Jonathan Rimmington guided Liversedge to the NCEL League Cup final and also a very good league finish

Paul Stansfield (Knaresborough Town)

Paul Stansfield’s Knaresborough Town were unstoppable and cantered to the title

8 thoughts on “Vote for the NLY manager of the year

  1. Could anyone else have secured a league title for Knaresborough, I think not!
    Small club, small budget but now going in the right direction! Bigger things to come.
    Well done Mr Stansfield

  2. It’s a tough choice this year, with some fantastic managers in line for the award, but as with prob all voters, I have to stick with my home team manager, what a great job Christian n Johnny have done at Selby Town. Well worth a shout in the running for award

  3. What Sean Regan has achieved with the budget he had compared to other clubs is unbelievable. No attitude or arrogance unlike others, just got his head down and got every last bit out of those players. Only one worthy Manager in my eyes.

  4. Paul Stanfield. This man is Mr Knaresborugh. Champion through and through and this has transposed onto the team. What a season!! Worthy CHAMPIONS.

  5. Craig Parry,how come the full management team wasn’t up for nomination,everybody wrote us out at the beggining of the season thinking we would get relegated but I and my fellow colls supporters/fans had faith in craig and the lads, and we won promotion for the first time ever to the evo stikk and went up in style as CHAMPIONS!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *