Yorkshire NCEL Div One team of the year

The Toolstation Northern Counties East League

Just like the Premier Division, it has been great year for our Yorkshire sides in the Toolstation NCEL Division One so picking a Team of the Year has been the hardest it has ever been in five years.

It has been that difficult, some heavy-duty players have missed out on selection. It was that tight.

Knaresborough Town, Yorkshire Amateur and Eccleshill United have been challenging for the top two all season, with two being successful. There has also been a great race for sixth spot, involving a number of sides. We have had lots of goals, superheroes, brilliant cup runs too.

The choices will divide opinion like every year, but it is all about opinions.

*Please note that like every year our Team of the Years are purely made up of players playing for Yorkshire clubs.

Non League Yorkshire’s 201/18 Yorkshire Toolstation NCEL Division One team of the year (4-4-2)


Glasshoughton goalkeeper Mat Zaniewski

Mat Zaniewski (Glasshoughton Welfare)


Dan Thirkell in battle for Knaresborough. Picture: Craig Dinsdale

Dan Thirkell (Knaresborough Town)

Will Lenehan captained Knaresborough to the title. Picture: Craig Dinsdale

Will Lenehan (Knaresborough Town)

Gregg Anderson dropped down two divisions to play for Knaresborough in the summer. Picture: Craig Dinsdale

Gregg Anderson (Knaresborough Town)

The iconic photo of Leon Henry scoring the title-clinching goal for Brighouse Town in April 2014

Leon Henry (Yorkshire Amateur)


The original wing wizard Rob Youhill has recaptured the kind of form he showed during Billy Miller’s three glorious years in charge of Harrogate Railway. Picture: Craig Dinsdale

Rob Youhill (Knaresborough Town)

Eccleshill United’s Andy Cooper

Andy Cooper (Eccleshill United)

Midfielder Harrison Blakey has been brilliant for Yorkshire Amateur

Harrison Blakey (Yorkshire Amateur)

Magic man Joe Dale has terrified defenders during spell-binding performances for Selby Town

Joe Dale (Selby Town)


Hallam striker Mitch Dunne

Mitch Dunne (Hallam)

Ash Flynn has helped Yorkshire Amateur win promotion

Ash Flynn (Yorkshire Amateur)


Fernando Moke (Yorkshire Amateur), Dom Smith (Eccleshill United), Conor Glavin (Glasshoughton Welfare), Sam Bradley (Eccleshill United), Luke Harrop (Eccleshill United), Ryan Gothard (Selby Town). Liam Flanagan (Selby Town).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *