Yorkshire NCEL Prem team of the year

It wasn’t to be for our Yorkshire teams in the Toolstation NCEL Premier Division teams this year. 

FA Vase heroes Cleethorpes were by far the best team in the Division and deservedly won the league. That doesn’t mean it hasn’t been a great year for Yorkshire though.

There has been fantastic campaigns for Athersley Rec, Thackley, Pickering Town, Bridlington Town and Liversedge – some of those teams were expected to struggle.

Non League Yorkshire’s 2016/17 Yorkshire Toolstation NCEL Premier Division team of the year (3-4-3)


Pickering Town goalkeeper Toby Wells

Toby Wells (Pickering Town)


Pickering Town captain Niall Tilsley

Niall Tilsley (Pickering Town

Liversedge captain Tom Jackson (left)

Tom Jackson (Liversedge)

Handsworth’s Connor Smythe

Connor Smythe (Handsworth Parramore)


Pickering Town midfielder Nick Thompson

Nick Thompson (Pickering Town)

Thackley captain Paddy McGuire in action

Paddy McGuire (Thackley)

Pickering’s Eddy Birch

Eddy Birch (Pickering Town)

Hemsworth left-winger Richard Collier also starred for Glasshoughton at the start of the season

Richard Collier (Hemsworth Miners Welfare)


Handsworth Parramore striker Aaron Moxam

Aaron Moxam (Handsworth Parramore)

Bridlington Town striker Joel Sutton

Joel Sutton (Bridlington Town)

Athersley’s key man Kai Hancock in battle with Garforth’s Ryan Donoghue

Kai Hancock (Athersley Rec)


Jon Froggatt (Handsworth Parramore), James Hitchcock (Bridlington Town), Brett Agnew (Bridlington Town), George Bissett (Pickering Town), Craig Bentham (Thackley).

One thought on “Yorkshire NCEL Prem team of the year

  1. No mention whatsoever of Albion Sports who will probably finish Top 8 – above several of those mentioned – after losing half of their team at the start of the season. Something amiss there!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.